Oscars 2018: The Shape Of Water, Frances McDormand, Gary Oldman - Complete List Of Winners

Login   |  Register Now

Follow us with

Oscars 2018: The Shape Of Water, Frances McDormand, Gary Oldman - Complete List Of Winners

Posted on : Monday 5th of March 2018

Total 1 News Image

NEW DELHI:  Guillermo del Toro's The Shape Of Water was the biggest winner at the 90th Academy Awards, winning in four of the 13 categories it was nominated in. The film's Oscar tally included two biggies - Best Picture and Best Director. Frances McDormand won her second Best Actress Oscar for her performance as a tenacious mother fighting to have her daughter's rapist and murderer found in Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri. She delivered a rousing, crowd-pleasing speech - "Look around, ladies and gentlemen. We all have stories to tell and projects we need financed. Invite us into your office in a couple days - or you can come to ours, whichever suits you best - and we'll tell you all about them." In the audience, the women - Meryl Streep included, were on their feet.

Gary Oldman won his first Best Actor Oscar, as expected, for his work as Winston Churchill in Darkest Hour. Also expected was Allison Janney's Best Supporting Actress win for playing figure skater Tonya Harding's terrible mother in I, Tonya.

The Best Supporting Actor Oscar was seen to be something of a three horse race between Frances' Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri co-star Sam Rockwell, The Florida Project's Willem Dafoe and All The Money In The World's Christopher Plummer. Sam Rockwell repeated his Golden Globe win, in a category that also included Woody Harrelson from the same film.

Christopher Nolan's Dunkirk won three Oscars for excellence in sound and film editing. Darkest Hour's makeup team also won an Oscar for their work transforming Gary Oldman into Winston Churchill - it reportedly took four hours each day.

The other big films scored a win each - Call Me By Your Name, Phantom Thread and Get Out, which won its African-American director and writer Jordan Peele a historic Oscar for Best Original Screenplay.

Jimmy Kimmel returned as the host for the second year in a row - the first host since Billy Crystal to do so. Warren Beatty and Faye Dunaway were asked back to present the Best Picture Oscar again despite last year's envelope mix-up - this time, it went okay.

Here's the complete list of winners:

Best Picture:The Shape Of Water

Best Director: Guillermo del Toro, The Shape Of Water

Best Actress: Frances McDormand, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Best Actor: Gary Oldman, Darkest Hour

Best Supporting Actress: Allison Janney, I, Tonya

Best Supporting Actor: Sam Rockwell, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Best Original Screenplay: Get Out

Best Adapted Screenplay: Call Me By Your Name

Best Animated Feature Film: Coco

Best Foreign Language Film: A Fantastic Woman, Chile

Best Original Score: The Shape Of Water

Best Original Song: Remember Me, Coco

Best Documentary Feature: Icarus

Best Documentary Short: Heaven Is A Traffic Jam On The 405

Best Live Action Short: The Silent Child

Best Animation Short: Dear Basketball

Best Sound Editing: Dunkirk

Best Sound Mixing: Dunkirk

Best Production Design: The Shape Of Water

Best Cinematography:Blade Runner 2049

Best Makeup And Hair:Darkest Hour

Best Costume Design:Phantom Thread

Best Film Editing: Dunkirk

Best Visual Effects:Blade Runner 2049

Disclaimer: The contents or any information provided here is strictly personal and way4indians.com does not hold any responsibility or liability on them. We shall endeavor to upload/publish as many of the comments that are submitted as possible within a reasonable span of time, but we do not guarantee that all comments that are submitted will be uploaded/published. Messages that harass, abuse or threaten other members; have obscene, unlawful, defamatory, libelous, hateful, or otherwise objectionable content; or have spam, commercial or advertising content or links are liable to be removed by the editors. We also reserve the right to edit the comments that do get published. Please do not post any private information unless you want it to be available publicly.


Copyright © 2012-2019, All rights Reserved   |  www.way4indians.com  |  This Logo is a trademark of Way4Indians. For Enquires, please contact : info@way4indians.com